Executive Team

MB webCo-Convenor: Dr. Mark Bennister Professor David S. Bell.  Email D.Bell@leeds.ac.uk

Dr Mark Bennister is Senior Lecturer in Politics at Canterbury Christ Church University. His research focuses on comparative political leadership. He has published on British and Australian leadership, rhetoric and party leadership. He is engaged in research on the concept of ‘leadership capital’ and the potential for measuring political leadership.

His book Prime Ministers in Power: Political Leadership in Britain and Australia was published in 2012 by Palgrave.


Co-Convenor: Dr. Toby S. James.  Email: t.s.james@uea.ac.uk tobyjames - web small

Dr. Toby S. James is Lecturer in the School of Political, Social and International Studies at the University of East Anglia.  His research focusses on the development of statecraft theory as a method for understanding political leadership but he also works on the study of electoral institutions.

He is the author of Elite Statecraft and Election Administration (Palgrave, 2012) and has recently co-edited a special issue of Parliamentary Affairs.


Treasurer: Dr. Timothy Heppell.  Email: t.heppell@leeds.ac.uk

tim heppellDr. Tim Heppell is Associate Professor of British Politics at  the University of Leeds.  My research interests are in British party politics and political leadership, with recent publications being focused around leadership selection, opposition leadership and coalition leadership.

His most recent book is  The Tories from Winston Churchill to David Cameron (Bloomsbury, 2013).